Stone Leadership Award in Civil and Environmental Engineering


From left: Jeff Stone, 2017 recipients Meredith Ayers and Anna Quinn, and Civil and Environmental Engineering Department Chair Andrzej Nowak. 


The Stone Leadership Award promotes the development of leadership abilities in Auburn’s civil engineering undergraduates. The award was established by Jeffrey I. and Linda J. Stone to recognize students who have exhibited outstanding leadership beyond the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. 


The award is open to undergraduate students majoring in civil engineering. Nominations may be made by students, faculty, or staff within the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering.


Nominees should have an outstanding reputation among their peers and exhibit leadership through action and example. In addition each student should exhibit:

  • Leadership in student organizations or service activities
  • Activities outside civil engineering
  • A positive impact on others 
  • High scholastic achievement

Nomination deadline

Nominations are due Monday, March 1, 2021. The selection committee consists of the chair and a faculty member in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and one or more outside reviewers. The number of awards presented each year is contingent upon the pool of applicants and availability of funds. Recipients will be honored at the College of Engineering's spring awards ceremony.

If you have any questions about the online nomination process, please contact Ashley Winfree at

Apply Now

Previous recipients

2012 Recipients

  • Zachary Bullock
  • Rebecca “Curry” Stevenson
  • Emilee Williams

2013 Recipient

  • Stephen J. Smart

2015 Recipient

  • Carson Smith
  • William Stocks

2016 Recipient

  • Elizabeth H. Lim

2017 Recipient

  • Meredith A. Ayers
  • Anna J. Quinn

2018 Recipients

  • Danny P. Nocharli
  • Natalie P. Palmquist

2019 Recipients

  • Abby Meadows
  • Matt Carey

2020 Recipients

  • Tyler Norman
  • Tristan Wilson

Last Updated: 1/22/21 3:00 PM