Fluid Lab

Aerospace Labs
allow students to have hands-on learning experiences and faculty and graduate students to conduct experiments related to their research. Recently with the addition of several new faculty, the department is actively establishing new laboratories in a variety of areas.

Recent Research News

Joseph Majdalani receives the Wyld Propulsion medal and a citation certificate from Rusty Powell, AIAA Director for Propulsion and Energy, at the SciTech Forum on Jan. 10, 2024, in Orlando, Florida.
Majdalani receives international Wyld Propulsion Award
Joseph Majdalani, the Hugh and Loeda Francis Chair of Excellence in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Auburn University, has received the 2024 Wyld Propulsion Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).
1/31/24 1:00 PM
Aerospace associate professor Vrishank Raghav (left) stands with aerospace postdoctoral researcher Arun Nair (center) and doctoral student Abbishek Gururaj (right) to study the R3DV facility, used to measure the rotor blades of flight vehicles — such as helicopters, Uncrewed Aerial Systems (UAS), and Vertical Take-off and Landing (VTOLs) aircraft — when hovering.
Aerospace associate professor awarded DOD grant for instrumentation
Vrishank Raghav, associate professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, is among 281 researchers nationwide awarded a Department of Defense grant under the Defense University Research Instrumentation Program (DURIP).
1/30/24 12:00 PM
Front row, Left to right: Mike Patterson, Joe Majdalani, Imon Chakraborty, David Sharp, Roy Hartfield and Alan Lowrey. Second row: Lisa Mitchell, Todd May, Andrew Keys (AIAA GHS Vice-Chair) and Jeff Haars.
Aerospace engineering faculty honored by AIAA Greater Huntsville Section
The Samuel Ginn College of Engineering was well-represented at the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Greater Huntsville Section Associate Fellow Recognition Dinner on Dec. 18. One Auburn engineering alumnus was inducted into the 2024 class of Associate Fellows, and one faculty member was recognized for making the 2023 class. Additionally, two faculty members were acknowledged at the dinner for their national recognitions earlier in the year.
1/23/24 1:00 PM
Maggie Nelson is Auburn University's first Churchill Scholarship recipient.
Aerospace engineering student wins prestigious Churchill Scholarship
Nelson, a senior from Birmingham in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, is headed to Churchill College at the University of Cambridge this fall to work toward her MPhil in materials science and metallurgy.
1/22/24 1:30 PM
Entrants must record a video presentation using animation, simulation, diagrams, pictures, or even demonstrations explaining an overview of their respective study, but at a level where general audiences can understand. Each video must not exceed 60 seconds.
Registration under way for AUSome Science in 60 Seconds
Last spring’s AUsome Science in 60 Seconds research pitch competition was so successful, Auburn Engineering is hosting it again.
1/19/24 2:30 PM