College of EngineeringSitesGAVLABAutonomous Tiger RacingAbout the Team

About the Team

Team at Indianapolis Motor SpeedwayThe Autonomous Tiger Racing Team is comprised of Ph.D., M.S., and B.S. students from across the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering at Auburn University. Team members learn skills in:

  • high-speed vehicle dynamics
  • perception-based navigation (LiDAR, cameras, etc.)
  • localization and estimation 
  • V2V and V2X Communication and Networking
  • Simulation Environments


Competition Overview

In 2020, the GAVLab began preparing to make history, and throughout participation in the Indy Autonomous Challenge, we did just that. AU was the first team to see their car run autonomously at Lucas Oil Motor Speedway.

The first official competition took place on October 23, 2021 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The team then traveled to Las Vegas in January of 2022 to compete at Las Vegas Motor Speedway as a part of CES 2022. 



Current Team Members

  • Stephanie Meyer - Team Lead
  • Bryce Karlins
  • Greg Mifflin
  • Thomas Gruber
  • Nick Ott
  • Sarah Bass
  • Steven Pilgrim
  • Tanner Koza
  • Jackson Blanks
  • William Murphy
  • Kyle Thompson
  • Daniel Kamrath
  • Mitchell Carr
  • Vlad Eganov
  • Jake Ward
  • Kyle Mann
  • Juan Morande Castelblanco
  • Blake Young
  • Qi Li
  • Jacob Harris