Workplace safety and ergonomics research training programs reaccredited

Published: May 1, 2020 11:21 AM

By Cassie Montgomery

Two research training programs associated with the Center for Occupational Safety, Ergonomics and Injury Prevention at Auburn University have been reaccredited for another six-year term. The programs are “Occupational Safety & Ergonomics” and “Occupational Injury Prevention,” and both are sponsored by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH).

Mark Schall is an associate professor in industrial and systems engineering (ISE) and serves as the deputy director of the Deep South Occupational Safety and Ergonomics Training Program. He highlighted several reasons why accreditation is important, including that external peer evaluation ensures the program adheres to the criteria and policies for competency among program graduates, as well as securing and maintaining funding from NOISH.

“Students that graduate from our training programs are also eligible to receive the designation of Associate Ergonomics Professional (AEP) from the Board of Certification in Professional Ergonomics upon graduation,” he said. “Overall, accreditation increases the reputation of our programs and makes ISE graduates that much more attractive to potential employers as they enter the workforce.”

The programs earned reaccreditation from the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES), an interdisciplinary nonprofit organization devoted to the disciplines of human factors and ergonomics. ISE faculty submitted a portfolio describing the curriculum for each program to HFES, along with information on practical experience within the program. The portfolio was reviewed and approved by the HFES Accreditation Committee.

The Center for Occupational Safety, Ergonomics and Injury Prevention is housed within the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. Several ISE faculty and staff were involved in preparing the accreditation portfolio, including: Schall; Jerry Davis, the Daniel F. and Josephine Breeden Professor and center director; Sean Gallagher, the Hal N. and Peggy S. Pennington Professor; Richard Sesek, the Tim Cook Associate Professor; John Evans, the Charles D. Miller Chair Professor; LuAnn Carpenter, director of student program assessment and administration; Richard Garnett, lecturer; and Robert Thomas, professor emeritus.

Media Contact: Cassie Montgomery,, 334.844.3668

Recent Headlines