College of EngineeringComputer Science and SoftwareAbout CSSEMessage from the Chair

Message from the Chair

Auburn University’s Computer Science and Software Engineering Department (CSSE) has seen significant growth in recent years, and is on an upward trajectory in terms of education, research, and reputation. CSSE is the largest and highest ranked department in the State of Alabama, ranked fifth among SEC schools, 49 th  among public universities, and among the top one-fifth of computer science departments nationwide according to the 2021 US News and World Report computer science rankings . Research and instruction in CSSE are led by 33 faculty, among whom are Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers and NSF CAREER Award recipients, endowed chair professors, and a Rhodes Scholar. The department also has six adjunct/affiliate professors. Our faculty is diverse (21% women and minorities), international (with national origins in 13 countries), dynamic, and excellent. We are home to more than 1500 undergraduate and graduate students pursuing one of three undergraduate degrees (BS in Computer Science, Bachelor of Software Engineering, and Bachelor of Computer Science), one of three Master’s degrees (MS in Data Science & Engineering, MS in Cybersecurity Engineering, and MS in CSSE), or PhD in CSSE. Department research covers the full spectrum of topics in the discipline, with particular strengths in Artificial Intelligence, Data Science, Machine Learning, and Security & Privacy. The Auburn Cyber Research Center is situated within the department, and we work closely with Auburn’s McCrary Institute for Cyber and Critical Infrastructure Security. Average ACT score of incoming freshmen stands well above 29, close to 10% of our undergraduates are Honors students, and our graduates are highly sought after by well-known companies such as Amazon, Google, and Visa,  as well as federal agencies, regional and national industries, and graduate schools.

Contact Information

department chair, hari narayanan

Department Chair Hari Narayanan