College recognizes outstanding students, faculty, staff, alumni at annual spring awards ceremony

Published: Apr 19, 2024 4:00 PM

By Bethany Giles

The Auburn University Samuel Ginn College of Engineering hosted its annual spring awards ceremony in the Brown-Kopel Center Friday. Students, faculty, staff and alumni were recognized for outstanding leadership and devotion to the college. 

“The Samuel Ginn College of Engineering is home to many talented and accomplished students, faculty, staff and alumni," said Mario Eden, dean of engineering. "We are proud to celebrate their inspiring achievements and service to Auburn and beyond.” 

Below are the 2024 award recipients:

J. Alley Family Fellowship

• Ayuba Akinpelu, Chemical Engineering


100+ Women Strong Graduate Leadership Award

•Kanak Parmar, Aerospace Engineering


100+ Women Strong Undergraduate Leadership Award

•Amber McVay, Aerospace Engineering


100+ Women Strong Graduate Student Fellowship

•Soundarya Korlapati, Computer Science and Software Engineering


100+ Women Strong Outstanding Graduate Student Award

•Olumide Falana and Raziyeh Jokar from Biosystems Engineering

•Shireen Singh and Lucila Carias from Chemical Engineering

•Yue Zhang and Soundarya Korlapati from Computer Science and Software Engineering

•Savannah Maples and Julia Bitencourt from Industrial and Systems Engineering

•Ann Johnston and Seyedmehrab Hosseini from Mechanical Engineering

•Emily Doody and Maria Clavijo Calderon from Civil Engineering

•Valentina Nesterova and Yeonjin Baek from Materials Engineering


100+ Women Strong Leadership in Diversity Faculty Award

•Shubhra Kanti Karmaker Santu, Computer Science and Software Engineering


Frank Vandegrift Co-op Award

•William Nist, Chemical Engineering


Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Award for Most Outstanding Engineering Student Organizations

• Design Build Fly

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers


Birdsong Study Abroad Scholarships

• Anna Carter, Materials Engineering

• Ava Cook, Civil and Environmental Engineering

• Jackson Scifres, Computer Science and Software Engineering

• James Shepherd, Mechanical Engineering


Student Organization or Group Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Experience Award

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers


Jeff and Linda Stone Leadership Awards

• Braden Glenn, Mechanical Engineering

• Grace Carr, Chemical Engineering

• Katelyn Wolfe, Electrical and Computer Engineering

• Maggie Nelson, Aerospace Engineering

• Ross Tolbert, Chemical Engineering

Gunnar Smith, Industrial and Systems Engineering


Outstanding Student Awards

• Elizabeth Weidl, Aerospace Engineering

• Ayden Kemp, Biosystems Engineering

• Grace Kovakas, Chemical Engineering

• Sydney Reehm, Civil and Environmental Engineering

• Elijah Parker, Computer Engineering

• Matthew Do, Computer Science

• Zachary Scholten, Electrical Engineering

• Savannah Chernetsky, Industrial and Systems Engineering

• Mason Holtcamp, Materials Engineering

• Oren Miller, Mechanical Engineering

• Benjamin Fisk, Software Engineering

• Zachary Moore, Wireless Engineering


Samuel Ginn Outstanding Student Award

• Grace Kovakas, Chemical Engineering


Mark A. Spencer Creative Mentorship Award

• Joseph Majdalani, Aerospace Engineering

• Emma Signor, Aerospace Engineering


Outstanding Faculty Awards

• Eldon Triggs, Aerospace Engineering

• Hossein Jahromi, Biosystems Engineering

• Bill Josephson, Chemical Engineering

• Robert Barnes, Civil and Environmental Engineering

• Dean Hendrix, Computer Science and Software Engineering

• Eduard Muljadi, Electrical and Computer Engineering

• Dan O'Leary, Industrial and Systems Engineering

• Konstantin Klyukin, Materials Engineering

• Jordan Roberts, Mechanical Engineering


Fred H. Pumphrey Teaching Award

• Eduard Muljadi, Electrical and Computer Engineering


William F. Walker Teaching Awards for Excellence


• Jordan Roberts, Mechanical Engineering



• Daniel Geiger, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Research Awards for Excellence:

Senior Award:

• Vrishank Raghav, Aerospace Engineering

• Yin Sun, Electrical and Computer Engineering


Junior Award:

• Vinamra Agrawal, Aerospace Engineering

• Siyuan Dai, Mechanical Engineering


Outstanding Staff Award

• Bethany Beets, Engineering Administration

• Nabeel Rawajfih, Engineering Network Services


Staff Champion for the Student Experience

• Branden Farmer, Industrial and Systems Engineering

• Ashley Winfree, Civil and Environmental Engineering


Outstanding Alumni Awards

• Jack Waddey, Aerospace Engineering

• John Deal Jr., Biosystems Engineering

• Karen Griffin, Chemical Engineering

• Brad Christopher, Civil and Environmental Engineering

• Rose Gaëlle Belinga, Computer Science and Software Engineering

• Jason Gallaspy, Electrical and Computer Engineering

• Ed Lewis, Industrial and Systems Engineering

• Jeffrey King, Materials Engineering

• Thomas Williams, Mechanical Engineering

• Jessica Taylor, Polymer and Fiber Engineering


Black Alumni Award

• Beverly Banister, Chemical Engineering


Franklin Brittain Matthews Award

• Sharlene Evans, Industrial Engineering

Media Contact: Bethany Giles,, 334.844.5519
Auburn Engineering students, faculty, staff and alumni attended the annual spring awards ceremony

Auburn Engineering students, faculty, staff and alumni attended the annual spring awards ceremony

Recent Headlines