Auburn Alumni Engineering Council inducts new class during spring 2020 meeting

Published: May 11, 2020 12:40 PM

By Austin Phillips

The Auburn Alumni Engineering Council inducted six new members and a guest of the dean to the group during its annual spring meeting May 8, which was held remotely due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Each council class is active for five years, and those inducted into the Class of 2025 were:

  • Don Arkle, ’77 civil engineering, chief engineering for the Alabama Department of Transportation
  • Stephen Armstrong, ’96 electrical engineering, president and CEO of O’Neal Steel
  • Earl Foust, ’71 mechanical engineering, president of the utility division of Valmont Industries
  • John Jones, ’59 mechanical engineering, secretary of the board of directors for MS Technology and MillenniTEK
  • Michael Moody, ’84 electrical engineering, senior vice president of business operations for Dynetics
  • Denise Raper, ’92 computer science, vice president and head of VisaNet architecture for Visa

The council also added Rick Knop, ’69 George Washington University, as a guest of the dean. Knop, who serves as a managing member of FedCap Partners, is the husband of council member Leslee Belluchie, ’83 mechanical engineering, and supporter of the university and college.

“This group of highly distinguished alumni will be a great asset to the council and our mission to support the vision and goals of Dean Roberts and the Samuel Ginn College of Engineering,” said Kenneth Kelly, ’90 electrical engineering and chair of the council. “They represent some of the most accomplished individuals in their fields, and they will bring a plethora of expertise to the table as we support the best student-centered engineering educational experience in America.”

During the abbreviated meeting, the council received an update from Dean Christopher. B Roberts and addressed other matters to provide leadership and participation in areas such as academics, development, governmental affairs and public relations. Kelly was also installed as the new chair, replacing Walt Woltosz, ’69 aerospace engineering, who completed his term. Brad Christopher, who earned his bachelor’s and master’s in civil engineering in 1991 and 1993, respectively, was confirmed as the new vice chair and will also serve as the treasurer.

The Auburn Alumni Engineering Council’s next meeting is scheduled for homecoming weekend, Sept. 24-26.


Media Contact: Austin Phillips,, 334-844-2444
Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Class of 2025

Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Class of 2025

Recent Headlines