Stone Leadership Award in Civil Engineering


From left: Jeff Stone, 2017 recipients Meredith Ayers and Anna Quinn, and civil engineering Department Chair Andrzek Nowak. 


The Stone Leadership Award promotes the development of leadership abilities in Auburn’s civil engineering undergraduates. The award was established by Jeffrey I. and Linda J. Stone to recognize students who have exhibited outstanding leadership beyond the Department of Civil Engineering. 


The award is open to undergraduate students majoring in civil engineering. Nominations may be made by faculty or staff within the Department of Civil Engineering.


Nominees should have an outstanding reputation among their peers and exhibit leadership through action and example. In addition each student should exhibit:

  • Leadership in student organizations or service activities
  • Activities outside civil engineering
  • A positive impact on others 
  • High scholastic achievement

Nomination deadline

Nominations are due March 1. The selection committee consists of the chair and a faculty member in the Department of Civil Engineering and one or more outside reviewers. The number of awards presented each year is contingent upon the pool of applicants and availability of funds. Recipients will be honored at the College of Engineering's spring awards ceremony.

If you have any questions about the online nomination process, please contact Ashley Winfree at

Nominate Now

Previous recipients

2012 Recipients

  • Zachary Bullock
  • Rebecca “Curry” Stevenson
  • Emilee Williams

2013 Recipient

  • Stephen J. Smart

2015 Recipient

  • Carson Smith
  • William Stocks

2016 Recipient

  • Elizabeth H. Lim

2017 Recipient

  • Meredith A. Ayers
  • Anna J. Quinn

2018 Recipients

  • Danny P. Nocharli
  • Natalie P. Palmquist

2019 Recipients coming soon!!

Last Updated: 8/19/19 8:50 AM