College of Engineering / About Engineering / Awards / Research Awards for Excellence

Research Awards for Excellence

research award winners

The 2019 junior research award winner was Yi Wang (top left) and the senior award winners were Sushil Adhikari (top right), Xiao Qin (bottom left) and Nima Shamsaei. Chris Roberts, dean of the College of Engineering, is also pictured.


These prestigious awards recognize excellence in engineering research at Auburn University are presented primarily to faculty in the various departments in the College of Engineering (including research track.) These awards are also open to faculty in departments within the university as a whole who participate in engineering research. The emphasis is on quality engineering research performed at Auburn University, rather than at institutions where faculty have previously served.


The program includes a senior faculty award for faculty at the associate and full professor level, and a junior award at the assistant professor level.  Assistant professors moving through the promotion process will be considered for the junior category. Two awards are given annually, with $5,000 stipends. 


Nominations are submitted at the department level. The nomination package should include a cover form, a one-page letter of nomination summarizing the contributions of the faculty member to engineering research and supporting information with a four-page maximum.

  • Research grants and contracts received while at Auburn (25 points)
  • Representative research-related publications and presentations (with total numbers), textbooks and patents  while at Auburn (25 points)
  • Student support including graduate and undergraduate research supervision while at Auburn (20 points)
  • Involvement in professional societies, external reviews, and university committee membership  while at Auburn (20 points)
  • Research awards received as well as any additional  research activities while at Auburn (10 points) 

Letters of support are not required. The package should not exceed six pages in length (cover form, summary, four pages of supporting information). One nomination for each award category will be accepted from each department. Packets will be reviewed by the Auburn Alumni Engineering Council Research Committee with recommendations forwarded to the dean of engineering.

Nomination deadline

Nominations are due Feb. 15. Faculty members, students and alumni involved in engineering research may submit a nomination. Recipients from the previous three years are not eligible. Recipients will be recognized at the College of Engineering spring awards ceremony.

If you have any questions about the online nomination process, please contact Heather Conner at or Angie Lemke at

Previous recipients

2020: Senior: ZY Cheng, Elizabeth Lipke
          Junior: Pengyu Chen, Vrishank Raghav

2019: Senior: Sushil Adhikari, Xiao Qin, Nima Shamsaei
          Junior: Yi Wang

2018: Senior: Maria Auad, Wei-Shinn Ku
          Junior: David Blersch, Mark Schall

2017: Senior: Jin Wang
          Junior: Mark Adams

2016: Senior: Pradeep Lall
         Junior: Jeffrey LaMondia

2015: Senior: David Timm, Shiwen Mao
         Junior: Allan David

2014: Senior: David Bevly, Mark Byrne
          Junior: Elizabeth Lipke

2013: Senior: Sushil Bhavnani, Virginia Davis
         Junior: Michael Hamilton

2012: Senior: Mario Eden, John Hamilton
         Junior: Wei-Shinn Ku, Ahjeong Son

2011: Senior: Chris Roberts
         Junior: Shiwen Mao

2010: Senior: Wayne Johnson
         Junior: Xiao Qin

2009: Senior: Foster Dai, Ram Gupta
           Junior: Virginia Davis, Brian Thurow

2008: Senior: Aleksandr Simonian, Mark Halpin
           Junior: Mark Byrne, Dong-Joo Kim

2007: Senior: Pradeep Lall, Gopal Krishnagopalan
           Junior: Willie Harper, Z.Y. Cheng

2006: Senior: Bruce Tatarchuk, Prabhakar Clement
           Junior: Mario Eden, Anton Schindler

2005: Senior: Chris Roy, Barton Prorok
           Junior: Y.Y. Lee, Hari Narayanan

2004: Senior: Drew Hamilton, Jeff Smith
           Junior: Dongye Zhao, Jorge Valenzuela, David Bevly

2003: Senior: Chris Roberts, Alvin Lim
           Junior: Juan Gilbert

2002: Senior: Ram Gupta, Gerry Dozier
           Junior: Mark Barnett