Three College of Engineering alumni selected as Distinguished Dissertation Award winners

Published: Jun 29, 2016 8:00:00 AM
Media Contact: Chris Anthony,, 334.844.3447

Hasan Babaei, Xunfei Jiang and Fang Yu won Distinguished Dissertation Awards.
From left: Hasan Babaei, Xunfei Jiang and Fang Yu

Three Auburn Engineering alumni have been recognized with Distinguished Dissertation Awards from the Graduate School.

Hasan Babaei, Xunfei Jiang and Fang Yu were selected for the awards in the mathematics, physical sciences and engineering category. The awards honor recent doctoral graduates whose dissertations make an unusually significant contribution to their academic disciplines.

Babaei, '14 mechanical engineering, was advised by professor Jay Khodadadi, and his dissertation is titled "Molecular-Level Modeling of Thermal Transport Mechanisms within Carbon Nanotube/Graphene-based Nanostructure-enhanced Phase Change Materials." He will represent Auburn University as one of its two nominees in the Council of Graduate Schools/ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Awards competition.

Jiang, '14 computer science and software engineering, worked under the direction of professor Xiao Qin, and the title of her dissertation is "Thermal Modeling and Management of Storage Systems."

Yu, '16 electrical and computer engineering, was advised by emeritus professor R. Wayne Johnson, and her dissertation is titled "Ag Sintering Die and Passive Components Attach for High Temperature Applications."

Ten engineering students have received the award since its inception in 2010.