Auburn robotic lawnmower team cuts competition

Published: Jun 17, 2010 11:00:00 AM
Media Contact: Sally Credille,, 334-844-3447


Auburn's robotic lawnmower team

An Auburn University team of engineering students placed third at the seventh annual ION Robotic Lawn Mower Competition held June 3-6 in Beavercreek, Ohio, earning a $4,000 prize. The competition offers college students the opportunity to design and operate a robotic unmanned lawnmower, using navigation to rapidly and accurately mow a field of grass. Teams are judged on technical presentations, inspection, qualifications and a main competition where each team must mow a field of grass with the "best cut." Judged by a panel of landscape professionals, the winning team must cut a field to 75 percent and offer the most aesthetically pleasing finally product. The mowing competition serves as 80 percent of a team's total score, while 20 percent is based on a team's presentation and report.

Auburn's team includes mechanical engineering students Billy Bivins, Casey Still, Chris Warren, Chris Holland, Chris Khamken, Zach Lamb, Terry Miller, Corey Farmer and Jeremy Garner, as well as electrical and computer engineering students Michael Carroll, Chris Davis, Stephen Haddock, Stephan Henning, Sean Hyde, Mike Payne, Caleb Perry, and computer science and software engineering students John Harrison and William Woodall. The team began work on their lawnmower in June 2009. The team is advised by electrical and computer engineering department chair Mark Nelms and engineering technician Calvin Cutshaw.

For photos of the competition and Auburn team visit these Flickr pages with photography by team member Chris Khamken:

ION Robotic Lawn Mower Competition

Automow 2010

For more on the competition visit

autonomous lawn mower

Team member Stephen Haddock with the Auburn mower