Awards 2019-2020

Outstanding Alumnus: John Rogers. John is a 1992 (B.S. Agricultural Engineering) and 1994 (M.S. Agricultural Engineering) graduate of Auburn University. John is currently the Team Leader and Safety Engineer for the Anniston Army Depot (ANAD) Industrial Safety Office.

Outstanding Faculty: Jon Davis, PE. Jon is a lecturer in the department. Jon received his Bachelor of Forest Engineering degree from Auburn in 2002 and an MS in Civil Engineering degree in 2004. Prior to joining the department, Jon worked in the consulting industry in Georgia and Alabama as a project manager, project engineer, and senior design engineer.

Outstanding Staff: James Johnson. James is a Research Engineer in the department. James received his Bachelor of Biosystems Engineering degree from Auburn in 2013. He started working as a Research Engineer in the department immediately after graduation. 

Outstanding Student: Peyton Goodling, EIT. Peyton received her Bachelors of Biosystems Engineering (Ecological Engineering Option) degree this Spring. She will start a graduate program with Dr. Higgins in Summer of 2020.

Samuel Ginn College of Engineering Superior Teaching Award: Dr. Mark Dougherty, PE. Mark Dougherty is one of the recipients of the College of Engineering Superior Teaching Award. Dr. Dougherty was selected for this award because of his significant contributions to BSEN and Auburn University instruction programs.

Auburn University Outstanding Student ePortfolio Award: Justin Box. This award recognizes Auburn University students who have created exceptional professional ePortfolios. Justin received the runners up award.

ASABE Henry Giese Structures and Environment Award: Jim Donald, PE. Jim retired as Extension Professor in 2018 after 48 years of contribution and service to the department in the areas of housing for poultry and livestock, on-farm drying, and elimination of stray voltage. Because of his vision and leadership as the founding Director of the National Poultry Technology Center, he was honored with the Emeritus Professor and Emeritus Director by Auburn University after his retirement.

100+ Women Strong Graduate Leadership Award: Haixin Peng. Haixin is a PhD student in the department. Her graduate advisor is Dr. Brendan Higgins. She has a M.S. degree from China Agricultural University.

ASABE Ethics Competition: Video and Essay Portion
1st Place Team Ethics Video: Grace Phung (BSEN JR), Jacob Konkinda, John Carson, and Patrick Redman
2nd Place Team Ethics Video: Katie Wolfe (BSEN JR), Brynn Bartholomew, and Nolan Bennett

1st Place Ethics Essay: Jessie Williford (BSEN Grad Student)
2nd Place Ethics Essay: Vivek Patil (BSEN Grad Student)

Last Updated: 12/8/20 11:50 AM